A trip to Liverpool

On Friday I travelled up to Liverpool to give a talk to Liverpool Astronomical Society. I spoke about extrasolar planets (full title being “Extrasolar Planets and their Aurora”). I have to say I very much enjoyed it and it was a pleasure to speak at the oldest Astronomical Society in the UK (and the world, I think). I felt it went down well and I hope I was clear with my explanations, though I know I can be “hand-wavy” on occasion. I love giving talks about astronomy.
Anyway since I was in Liverpool I went to meet my good friend Katherine, who incidentally put me up overnight..
On Sat morning she gave me a tour of Liverpool, which I very much enjoyed… now come the pics, which are much better than my boring text.
The Roman Catholic Cathedral at night (where I gave the talk, not in main room – I would have been scared if it had been!):
liverpool_march1507_07_02
Radio City Tower:
liverpool_march1507_07_13
My fast food place (yeah, right! laughing.gif ):
liverpool_march1507_07_57
St Luke’s Church that was destroyed by air raids in the second world war:
liverpool_march1507_07_59
outside the Anglican Cathedral:
liverpool_march1507_07_72
inside the Anglican Cathedral:
liverpool_march1507_07_73
Liverpool University:
liverpool_march1507_07_98

Leave a Reply

