Trip to Jodrell Bank

Today I went up to the home of the UK’s radio astronomy – good old Jodrell Bank. For a British radio astronomer I felt odd saying that this was the first time I had actually been to Jodrell. It is a fantastic site, well worth a trip for anyone interested in astronomy. Since I was actually up for a meeting I forgot to take my camera and you can’t turn your phone on as it causes inteference (so no photos, must be a first for me as of late!). If you fancy a visit take a look [here]. The reason I was up at Jodrell was to find out more about the e-Merlin (Multi-Element Radio Linked Interferometer Network ([MERLIN])) legacy projects that will be happening in the not-to-distant future and might well impact on any career I follow after my PhD… it was full of interesting talks and discussion and yes brown dwarfs came up… which got my interest.

Leave a Reply

