Nominated for “Space Oscar”

I have been nominated for a “Sir Arthur Clarke Award” in the category for “Best Student Achievement”. The award ceremony will be held during the 2008 UK Space Conference on 29th March in Godalming, Surrey. It’s a shame that I won’t be able to get along but I have long standing outreach commitments that I really can’t turn my back on… and I’m sure its for that work that I got nominated so it would be really bad if I cancelled so I could party!
The “Arthurs” have become recognised as the space equivalent of the Oscars. They provide recognition and pay tribute to those who have worked for the advancement of space exploration. Nominations are submitted by the public, and the winners are voted for by representatives of the space industry, research institutions & universities, and space-related organisations. Nominees for other categories in the 2008 awards include Sir Richard Branson (in the categories “Best Individual Achievement” and “Space Entrepreneur”) and Stephen Hawking (“Inspiration Award”).

Leave a Reply

