Messing about with Ubuntu

I’m a bit unsure what the title of this entry should be and I’m a bit unsure about what I should actually mention. I had intended this to be a collection of things I did after I had installed Ubuntu on my machine. This could be, for some of you, the most boring entry you have ever seen. Hopefully some of the geekier readers will like this. I’m still not sure what is going to go here / if it will be of use for anyone. At least I will use it as a point of reference for myself. Hell that’s what this blog is all about. It is about me being too lazy to keep detailed notes and diaries.. and hopefully to give some of you an insight into my mind and what I’m upto. Lets be honest I’m pretty sure my most dedicated reader is my Mom (hi Mom – trust me this entry is not one for you… but if any of this sounds better than that Microsoft Vista installation I dumped on you…!biggrin.gif).
Oh well here goes. Hopefully this might inspire some of you to give Ubuntu a go, its simple really and to install you just pop in the cd and off you go…
Audio Visual

Probably the most important, lets get some metal on while we do the rest…
Sort out your soundcard…
[http://ubuntuforums.org]

Install Mplayer and Multimedia Codecs (libdvdcss2,w32codecs) in Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon)
“MPlayer is a movie and animation player that supports a wide range of codecs and file formats, including MPEG 1/2/4,DivX 3/4/5, Windows Media 7/8/9, RealAudio/Video up to 9, Quicktime 5/6, and Vivo 1/2. It has many MX/SSE (2)/3Dnow(Ex) optimized native audio and video codecs, but allows using XAnim’s and RealPlayer’s binary codec plugins, and Win32 codec DLLs. It has basic VCD/DVD playback functionality, including DVD subtitles, but supports many text- based subtitle formats too. For video output, nearly every existing interface is supported. It’s also able to convert any supported files to raw/divx/mpeg4 AVI (pcm/mp3 audio), and even video grabbing from V4L devices.”
[http://www.ubuntugeek.com]

Use amarok for your music! works great with your ipod… sudo apt-get install amarok – and you can use it with last.fm – and there are tons of scripts out there! [amarok]

Copying DVDs (note: this is for legit purposes…) – XDVDShrink: [XDVDShrink]
This and some important codecs can all be installed using Automatix2 – [Automatix2]

Mounting your disks…

How to fstab – [http://ubuntuforums.org]
The configuration file /etc/fstab contains the necessary information to mount the disk. This file comes read at the start of the system and can be modified only by root user. [ubuntu.com]
How to edit and understand /etc/fstab [tuxfiles.org]
I finally got it to work by setting up the fstab correctly and then chown the directory it was mounted so I owned it! This took me longer to think of than I would have expected, silly brain as it was a pretty obvious thing to do.
Reading NTFS disks, Ubuntu Gutsy did this for me ok but for reference [ubuntuforums.org].

Booting

Grubb issues, don’t we love to hate it! 😀
How to restore Grub from a live Ubuntu cd [ubuntuforums.org]
Recovering Ubuntu after installing Windows – if you dual boot: [help.ubuntu.com]
(I’d suggest you don’t dual boot.. well if you only want to use a few windows task or play simple games – if this is you then think Wine or booting windows in a virtual machine).

Run other operating system’s inside Ubuntu!

Virtualbox, how to: http://howtoforge.com/virtualbox_ubuntu
Create and Manage Virtual Machines Using VirtualBox: [www.ubuntugeek.com]
Once installed remember to add yourself to the group that can use Virtualbox – if stuck try this page (note in French!): [doc.ubuntu-fr.org]

Windows apps inside Ubuntu
Wine is what you want, and irfan view rocks for image manipulation: [help.ubuntu.com]
How to run Windows applications on Ubuntu – [www.zolved.com] (this use a gui interface for adding packages, I’d recommend you use the above one which uses the commandline and apt-get, much faster if you can deal with the fear of not clicking…)

Mail

Copying over thunderbird files from Windows: copied over files and then edited profiles.ini so path was the old one…
[General]
StartWithLastProfile=1

[Profile0]
Name=default
IsRelative=1
Path=b1na6jtf.default

.. open up thunderbird and there you go, all your files and settings! ref: [ubuntuforums.org]

Backup

Making system images – VERY USEFUL!! Why repeat all of the above and below ever again! Creating Custom Ubuntu Live-CD With Remastersys: [www.ubuntugeek.com]
Create, Recover and Automate System Images – the above did the trick for me so I did not use the below in the end but its worth a look at: [ubuntuforums.org]
How to create an ISO image, pretty straightforward but always useful to check! [www.tech-recipes.com]
Simple Ubuntu Desktop Backup with Backerupper – I haven’t tried this yet, I have rsync scripts todo my backup in conjuction with crontab… [www.ubuntugeek.com]
Backup Ubuntu using rdiff-backup – I’m guessing this is similar to rsync, I haven’t tried this yet. When I get chance I should add some stuff on rsync: [www.ubuntugeek.com]
Backup and Restore Your Ubuntu System using Sbackup – a GUI, I might run scared but this is probably very useful for the person who runs scared of the commandline 😀 (I used to have that fear!) [www.ubuntugeek.com] (more on this at: [www.zolved.com])

Networking

How to open bittorrent ports from the command line: [www.ubuntugeek.com]
Ubuntu Firewall confusion, interesting posts about opening ports in ubuntu: [ubuntuforums.org]
Installing a firewall… I haven’t done this – I have a hardware firewall and ubuntu does not have open ports: [www.linux.com]

Misc

13 Things to do immediately after installing Ubuntu – some are obvious and some seem already there, [linuxondesktop.blogspot.com] – I’m also recommend the ubuntuguide.org
JAVA – [www.javalobby.org]
Epiphany Browser – nice and light weight.. [ubuntu-tutorials.com]
Fonts – not really needed, but oh one likes to play… [ubuntu.wordpress.com] [www.zolved.com] and how to install Microsoft fonts, but there is some copyright issues – I haven’t done this: [ubuntu.wordpress.com]
Enable Smooth fonts on Ubuntu Linux – [www.howtogeek.com] – I’m not sure this really made much of a difference!
XBOX 360 Controller, I’m still to try this one… [ubuntuforums.org]
Keyboard shortcuts – [ubuntuforums.org]
SKYPE – don’t get me started, this is the only thing I’m having problems with (though its really the usb phone and not skype)! [help.ubuntu.com]

Interesting sites

[www.ubuntugeek.com]
[www.brunolinux.com]
[fullcirclemagazine.org]
[www.justuber.com]
What app do you need? [www.gnomefiles.org]

To all you wannabe converts, remember that Linux is not Windows! Its much better 😀 [http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm”]
How to get good help on linux forums, interesting read, [ubuntucat.wordpress.com]

Leave a Reply

