Football Manager 2008 on Ubuntu

I knew the day would come. I love the football manager series and I’m ashamed to say that it was probably the reason I hung on to having Windows installed on my machine for so long. If you have no idea what I’m talking about [the game’s site]. Its a pretty addictive game. Anyway, I’ve been missing it. So I decided to try and figure out how to install it in Ubuntu. Installing games in Ubuntu is all about the WINE. So after popping the disc in the drive and typing wine setup.exe and it crashing I knew I was going to have to do some playing. This is not a bad thing, I’m a geek, I like playing. I read a post ([this one, post 39]) which gave some very good background info and suggested that there was a problem with the copyright protection. So I booted up my windows virtual machine, [see this post] about how to install Virtual Box and get Windows running like any other application in Ubuntu, and installed it in there. This is when the confirmation of the securerom (?I think) protection was obvious. The game wouldn’t run. I downloaded the latest patch from the FM site and there you go it ran! Wooh!. It is just a simple process of then copying over the files from the virtual machine into the .wine/ directory and running the task, like: wine “C:Program FilesSports InteractiveFootball Manager 2008fm.exe” –fullscreen_width=1280 –fullscreen_height=1024
I’ve been happy able to play the game and beat West Brom U18’s!

Leave a Reply

