Calgary Hike 14 – McNaught Bluff

This is the second of my hikes around Calgary that are suggested in the book “Calgary’s Best Hikes and Walks” by Lori Beattie. This was a nice walk around an area I see on my daily commute to the University so I was quite pleased to final take a proper look around there area. I ended up walking some 9.2km (well according to Google maps) from my flat to the start of the hike and then around the hike. This walk took in McNaught Bluff and Prince’s Island (a place I’ve been quite a few times already, so I walked through the downtown instead.. fancied popping to HMV). Basically I started off at Riley Park, went up to Crescent Heights and back downtown. It was a nice walking giving a nice view of the Bow River, the downtown and the rocky mountains in the distance.
A view from McNaught Bluff of the downtown:
Calgary Downtown Mosaic from McNaught Bluff
If you look carefully in this picture (maybe click the link and blow it up a bit) you can see the mountains through the streets in the downtown:
McHugh Bluff walk downtown with mountain
The start of my walk was quite eventful, well firstly I almost got run over by some dumbass driver who was turning right while the lights were against him (its legal here, it appear) and thus I could cross, I even walked around the car to make sure he could see me, oh know he still went forward! I then spotted this gloriously blue building:
Blue building
I then saw a [cricket match being played] in Riley park!
I finished off my walk going through Prince’s Island park and then towards the where I saw a squirrel that was being quite friendly (probably thought I had food to offer), a marble mosaic (I’ve seen these before but the Sun was catching them really well) and then a few interesting pieces of artwork..
squirrel on prince's island park
flowers marbles mosaic
"Brothers" by Galts-Goldsmith (1997)
For more pictures from this walk [see my flickr set].

Leave a Reply

