Converting Video for the Ipod on a linuxbox

After my flights to and from Puerto Rico the other day I decided it was about time I put a few other video clips onto my ipod (I’ve watched Master & Commander way too many times on it). The problem is how the heck did I convert them in the first place. I actually have this awful feeling it was quite a few years back and I used an evil Windows program todo it! Well, how do you do it in Linux… simply really install ffmpeg (and a few related things), in Ubuntu it should be as easy as:

sudo apt-get install ffmpeg

.. but just in case [read here]. Then its just about running said task and waiting for the processing to finish. Simples. Oh run something like:

ffmpeg -i Input.avi -f mp4 -acodec libfaac -ar 44100 -ab 128 -vcodec mpeg4 -maxrate 2000 -b 1500 -qmin 3 -qmax 5 -bufsize 4096 -g 300 -s 320×240 -r 30000/1001 outfile.mp4

Leave a Reply

