What I’m listening to: “Lostprophets – The Betrayed”

Lostprophets - The Betrayed
Story of the Year – The Constant

Over the past couple of months I’ve spent quite a lot of time listening to the [Lostprophets’] latest offering – “The Betrayed”. Now this is not the best offering from the Lostprophets ever I still quite enjoyed it. Its got their usual sound but I dunno, I just feel something is slightly missing. I think my favourite track on the album is “It’s Not the End of the World, But I Can See It From Here” though you can really hear the Billy Talent coming through… then again I like that. So I’m not moaning. This is in contrast the to the more melodic “Where We Belong”. Proper Lostprophets is found on “Next Stop Atro City” – you might even be able to hear the Pontypridd origins coming through (that’s a Welsh accent in case you were wondering).
The album takes a bit of a turn then getting a bit more pop-punk, I think the best way to describe it is Fall-Out Boy like. After this you really start to hear the proper Lostprophets, the other tracks are worth listening to but if you want to remind yourself of the sound of the Lostprophets then you probably want to listen to the second half of the album. The album finishes really strong with the excellent “The Light That Burns Twice As Bright…”… the song is full of lovely texture and doesn’t miss a nice heavy percussion section. biggrin.gif
Overall I quite enjoyed this album.. offers a few different things but its not quite what I was expecting.

Leave a Reply

