A week in Paris!

I went to Paris for ADASS XXI – a computational astronomy conference – it was an interesting conference full of the wonders of GPUs (I wrote about the [conference] and my [poster] previously). anyway, I also did some site seeing as my lovely other half flew out (Birmingham to Paris is a rather short flight) and we did a weekend of site seeing… here are a few highlights:
Of course you can’t go to Paris and not go on and on about the Eiffel Tower… so I will. We went up it on definitely the worst day whilst we were there. It was very reduced visibility but oddly eerily cool:
Eiffel Tower
from the top you just couldn’t see a thing:
from top of Eiffel Tower
though later that night, it was just spectacular:
Eiffel Tower at night
A surprise highlight of my trip was going into the Galeries Lafayette, something that Elizabeth wanted to see… pretty expensive shop but one heck of a focus:
Galeries Lafayette
She also surprised me by suggesting we go to Sainte-Chapelle – I had heard of this but was blown away by the place. I supposedly looked very disappointed by the first, lower room:
Sainte-Chapelle stained glass windows
but the upper room is just “wow”:
Sainte-Chapelle stained glass windows
Sainte-Chapelle stained glass windows
We did the other tourist things, going to Notre-Dame, Sacre Coeur, the Louvre and a bunch of palaces and squares but I won’t bore you with a discussion of each (but if you want to see some pictures go take a look [at my flickr set]). The other things that really stood out to me where the awesome size of La Défense:
La Défense
and seemingly never ending Musée d’Orsay:
Musée d'Orsay
Musée d'Orsay cafe clock
Overall we had a great time and well we got a lot in in such a short stay, probably helped by the epic metro… never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a train! On that note I’ll leave you with a picture of sunset over Place de la Concorde:
Place de la Concorde
(oh and if you want to see more did I mention [my flickr set]? 🙂 )

2 responses to “A week in Paris!”

  1. Krioma.net Blog says :

    A review of my 2011

    2011 will always be one of the most memorable years in my life – it better be as I did get married 🙂 The year started off with me being back in the UK for my birthday which was great…

  2. Krioma.net Blog says :

    A year back in the UK

    It’s now been a year since [I left Calgary] to come back to the UK. Time has flown by and I can’t quite believe that it was a year ago. Its quite fitting that I write this now, my rebate…

Leave a Reply

