Around Pune

We have been in Pune for a few days now and have done a bit of exploring, including some clothes shopping and a bit of tourism. Pune is a quite nice city and the easiest way to get around appears to be by auto-rickshaw which is no where near as bad as I thought it would be (I’ll upload a video once back in the UK).
On Friday we took a short walk through the sprawling University campus and went and took a look at one of the highlights of our guide book – the University main building.
Pune University main building
This was built in 1864 and was known as the Governor’s House. It currently looks like their is some renovations going on though.
On the way back we came past a site that was quite fitting:
Cricket at Pune University
But we also came across another, what the… ,
Pune University - bricks on power
Yes that’s bricks hanging from the power lines. Odd, must have some purpose but not a good one I’m sure.
A site that you see around lots of Pune is statues of Ganesh, a Hindu god:
Ganesh
There a lots of little temples or jotted over the place and I think a few can even be found in the middle of the road, which is most inconvenient for all parties!
Earlier today we went over to the Pune botanical gardens and saw the largest bats I’ve ever seen:
Bats at Pune Botanical Garden
Anyway, that’s all for now – I’m about to start my last observing run of my time in India this year – so lets all hope for no scintillation and no RFI (radio frequency interference).

One response to “Around Pune”

  1. Krioma.net Blog says :

    A year back in the UK

    It’s now been a year since [I left Calgary] to come back to the UK. Time has flown by and I can’t quite believe that it was a year ago. Its quite fitting that I write this now, my rebate…

Leave a Reply

